Yet Another…lost cemetery

Every once in a while we come across a cemetery with no known name or who was even laid to rest there. These cemeteries are the result of some of our earliest settlements and lack of materials to provide marked stones for the graves. I’ve known about this small cemetery for years. I was first shown the location by my Uncle and Grandfather during an early spring turkey hunt before the vegetation became too thick to find it. Once again, the location would be easier to point out on GPS rather than give step by step directions. It’s located in the National Forest in Augusta County about 75 feet off the side of the road. The North River runs on the opposite side of the road a few hundred yards away. As I said earlier, none of the stones are marked and there are no markers around the cemetery that I know of. The pictures tell the story much better than I can. Enjoy!

DSC00953

Looking from the cemetery towards the road

Looking from the road towards the cemetery

One of the unmarked stones that dot the area

One of the unmarked stones that dot the area

Another angle

Another angle

About Blue Ridge Ramblings....

For as long as I can remember history has always held a special place in my heart. Genealogy has always played a large part in my history research....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Yet Another…lost cemetery

  1. wonderful says:

    Wonderful

Leave a comment