Read All About It….

The following account of Dean Mountain ran on March 15, 1917 in the Rockingham Register. Dean Mountain sits in western Virginia, not far from the town of Elkton in the Blue Ridge. Enjoy!

Dean mtn history March 15 1917

About Blue Ridge Ramblings....

For as long as I can remember history has always held a special place in my heart. Genealogy has always played a large part in my history research....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Read All About It….

  1. Christy says:

    Wow! I enjoy reading the detailed description of the area. The Elkton tannery was especially fascinating to me. (In one census my great great grandfather’s occupation was listed as tanner. Since he was from McGaheysville, I wonder if he could have worked at Elkton’s tannery.) Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Linda L. Gochenour Hopp says:

    Thanks so much for this wonderful piece of history. My family connections with the Blue Ridge include the Gochenours, Deans, Coffmans, Meadows, Mongers. Appreciate your efforts very much.

    • Ms. Linda, I have a story about a Coffman bible I found a few years back. If I get time I’ll be sure to share it.

      • Linda L. Gochenour Hopp says:

        Thank you so much. I was recently able to purchase at auction a butter churn made by my ggggrandfathe, Andrew Coffman, supposedly at a pottery in Timberville in 1838. I plan to donate it to the Heritage Center in Dayton at a later date if they would take it, so that it can stay in the Valley. I was thrilled to find such a treasure! Would love to hear of your Coffman bible if you find the time. My gggrandfather was William C. who is buried at East Point with wife, Mary Jane Meadows. He also was a potter by trade I understand.

  3. makes you wanna go back to those times

Leave a Reply

